Trevor Jones - The Joyful Mysteries

The Joyful Mysteries



Other Information

The Joyful Mysteries are one of four sets of five mysteries of The Rosary, the other three being the Five Mysteries of Light, the Five Sorrowful Mysteries and the Five Glorious Mysteries. Each set of mysteries comprises the Lord's Prayer, ten recitations of the Hail Mary and a Glory be to the Father, together with other prayers to suit. The set concludes with the Salve Regina. 

The Joyful Mysteries are 1. The Annunciation 2. The Visitation [of Mary to her cousin Elizabeth] 3. The Nativity 4. The Presentation of Jesus in the Temple 5. The finding of the child Jesus in the Temple. 

The Joyful Mysteries set all texts, including the Gospel texts of each mystery as unaccompanied anthems. It can be sung as a complete choral Rosary, or the five anthems can be sung as Advent and Christmas music.