16/11/13 - Fraser Noble Hall, Leicester

Time: 7:30 PM

Date: 16/11/13


Fraser Noble Hall, Leicester

Fraser Noble Hall, London Road, Leicester, LE1 7RF

David Fisher - Fraser Noble Hall, Leicester

David Fisher - Fraser Noble Hall, Leicester

David Fisher - Fraser Noble Hall, Leicester

Other Information:

This concert in Fraser Noble Hall [pictures 2 & 3] by the University of Leicester Sinfonia conducted by Michael Sackin [picture 1] is a beautifully balanced programme featuring the British première of David Fisher´s "Augsburg Elegy" and its first ever performance on modern instruments as it was written for an authentic C18th orchestra.

Mozart:  Divertimento in D major K.251

Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major K.216

(soloist: Eleanor Wilkinson [picture 5] - violin)

David Fisher [picture 6]:  Augsburg Elegy

J. S. Bach:  Cantata "Ich habe genug" BWV 82

J. S. Bach arr. David Clark:  "Verachtest du" from Cantata BWV 102

(soloist: Christopher Johns [picture 4] - baritone)

The University of Leicester Sinfonia was founded in 1970 by David Cursons as Leicester University Baroque Ensemble, changing name first to Leicester University Baroque Orchestra and later Leicester University Sinfonia to reflect its expanding repertoire and growing size, finally becoming University of Leicester Sinfonia when Leicester University became University of Leicester. Since 1971 it has been conducted or directed by Michael Sackin and normally gives three or four concerts a year. Its repertoire ranges from the eighteenth century to the present day and has featured several first performances – this concert includes a first British performance of a work last heard in Bavaria with a brilliant new edition by local musician David Clark of a Bach cantata sung by Leicester Cathedral’s Director of Music Dr Chris Johns. The orchestra varies in size to accommodate anything from Bach cantatas to Brahms symphonies and is currently led by Liz Murphy, who has held the post since 2010.